We learn more from people whose views we share in common than from those whose ideas contradict ours.

The author claim that people tend to learn more from those who are similar instead of those ideas are contradictory. In my view, although people are more willing to cooperate with congenial friends, it doesn’t mean that we cannot learn more from people who have different thoughts.

I concede that people can gain benefits from cooperation with each other. Cooperation is a powerful skill through human society, and it is why we have surpassed most of other species in the earth. From cooperation, an arduous project can be break down and accomplished by people. Building a skyscraper, for example, it needs concerted effort through different staff, who all have the same goal and purpose. From working with others, they not only can accomplish a masterpiece but also accumulate their skills from assimilating the things that are lack of.

However, a wide range of benefits can be acquired from working with people who have contradictory thoughts and they are commensurate to benefits of working with people having common views. First, the process of challenge can spur people’s potential. People tend to become indolent in the comfortable and peaceful circumstance. Therefore, contradiction can galvanize more power and potential from human beings. In the government, congress men heckle and challenge people in power, such as mayors or presidents. In this process, it supersedes them as well as spurs them to come up with more effective solution.

Also, by integrating the ideas from the people who have contradictory thoughts, we can conceive innovative ideas. Sometime it is hard to make a break through in a field only work with people who have similar thoughts. People who have contradictory thoughts can provide us with different aspects, sometime they are the crux for solving a problem. This is the reason why today’s society focus on the ability of cross-field. For example, although anthropology and computer science are different field, however, achieving a well-establish system of vocal recognition application need to concerted effort of two field, that is, combing the power of calculation and the knowledge of linguistic of human beings.

To sum up, working either with people whose thoughts are contradictory to our or with people have same idea benefits us equally. It hard to assert we can learn more from which one. We can accomplish a complex task by cooperation and also learn more idea and galvanize more potential by debating with contradictory people.