In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that decreasing the speed limit fail to improve highway safety, and in order to achieve it, they need to increase lane widths and resurface rough parts of high way. However, there are several aspects need to be clarified to substantiate this claim.

First, we need to have more data for the cause of accidents in the Prunty County. Whether it is cause by the overspeed or by the poor quality of the highway. The situation between Prunty County and Butler County can be different, and thus the successful measure in Bulter County not necessarily ensure the success in Prunty County. Maybe the lane width and the surface issue in Prunty county are not the root cause of the accidents. Therefore, copying the measure directly from other place may not be effective.

Second, we need to know executive practices of the law that decreases the speed limit. It is possible that the reason of failure comes from the effective practice to force people in Prunty County to follow the rule. If that is true, they need to hire more police or establish more camera to deter citizens from driving overspeed. Or, it is possible that the law is not noticed by citizen in Prunty County, therefore, they are still follow the speed limit as before. Hence, to evaluate the effectiveness of the law need more data from the executive practice of the law.

Moreover, we also need to preclude other factors that will affect the data gain from the Prunty County to conclude that the original measure is not effective. First, the population in the Prunty County will influence the accidents occurring in the area, that is, the more people driving in the highway the more cases of accident will happen. Thus, we need to understand wether there are increasing in population after the law legislated, if so, the population growth in the County may backfire the effectiveness of the law.

To sum up, the data presented in the claim cannot ensure that mimic the measure from Butler County will successfully decrease the accidents in the Prunty County. To judge whether a measure will be successful, it is necessary to know the statistical data of the cause of accidents, the practice of the execution of the law, and preclude other possible factors that will affect the result.