If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it is justifiable.

The argument claims that it is reasonable to do anything in order to achieve a worthy goal. In my view, although a goal with great value is worthy for people to devote themselves with great effort, this statement is too extreme. For any action, we need to consider the balance between the cost and the yield.

From a financial point of view, it is unjustifiable to invest in perspective things without limit. Considering that you are a manager of a company who needs to judge for investing a great amount of money on a promising but expensive project - if it succeeds, it will bring a huge lucre, if fail, it will risk a financial status of the company. For a sober manager, who has deliberated the consequence of failure will not interminably increase the budget over its tolerance. Once the project exceeds the company’s financial ability, the company would risk itself in bankruptcy and all the members will face unemployment not to mention achieving the original goal to achieve the project and make money.

From an ethical point of view, it is also unreasonable to achieve one’s goal at all costs. Take the previous president of America, Nixon as an example. He had done several sneaky things, such as eavesdropping on the phone of his opponents. Although it may, for Nixon himself, worth to do this unethical behavior is unacceptable and justifiable for people. Therefore, one needs to take other aspects and other people into account, it is by no means to attain a goal that only you think is valuable.

Another aspect is related to the environment. We all know stopping global warming is an important and urgent issue that is definitely worthy for we humans to tackle. Owing to that most greenhouse gas is emitted from the industry, the swiftest and most effective way to conquer the problem is to stop all the plants and factories. However, is it plausible to close all the industries that will produce noxious gas? In regard to these industries are the bone of the economy, it sustains the prospect of a country and feeds a lot of people; shutting it down we need to pay the unsustainable cost. Therefore, one needs to consider the priority of the action but not unscrupulously put it into practice.

To sum up, it is too extreme and unjustifiable to claim that to reach a worthy goal by any measure. It is necessary to judge it from other aspects such as finance, ethic, and the cost.