Most people choose a career on the basis of such pragmatic considerations as the needs of the economy, the relative ease of finding a job, and the salary they can expect to make. Hardly anyone is free to choose a career based on his or her natural talents or interest in a particular work.

The speaker claims that, owing to economic pressure, people are hardly free to follow their own talents and will but choose their job from pragmatic concern. Admittedly, sometimes people who are not born in wealth-dividend, they are struggle for their sustenance so yielding to pragmatism. However, with the advance of the society, nowadays people have more chance to pursue their will in the their lives.

I concede that, from the history, people usually succumb to the pressure of their living and therefore turn to find the job that can sustain their living. After all, we are living creature: we need food to replenish the energy we consumed; we need various commodities to maintain our everyday live work. All these material stuff need money. Compared to pursing the goal that fit your interest, having a stable job is sometimes indispensable. Take the famous scientist, Einstein, as an example. Before he won the prestige in the field of academic, he worked in a patent office for his livelihood. Although the task may be boring and routine, but it is a practical choice that provided Einstein with ability to sustain himself.

However, with the development of the society, nowadays this world afford us more opportunity to chasing the goal that meet our interest and talent without sacrificing the livelihood. At school, there are various of scholarship and financial support can be applied by talented students. No matter a student is adept in mathematic, science, or art, there are plenty of corresponding resource can help them. In the society, on the contrary of those impecunious artists in the past, people who are skillful in art field have more resources to promote their works. The Internet helps them promote their works in the global scale, so that there are more people can appreciate their works and support them. Considering that, if Van Gogh live in modern society, the mishap:the only one paint was sold in his live, may not happen by virtue of the influence of the broad-covered media today.

Another reason that people today have more opportunity in choosing their job matching their interests and talents is that modern society is a society of cooperation. In detail, today’s society needs talented people in specific area but not people who know everything. In the ancient time, it is necessary for every family to contribute to the work directly to their livings, such as hunting or farming. By contrast, in modern society, people are work together in cooperative way. Some people work in food industry, some contribute theirselves in constructing building while some people are in charge to entertain the public on media. As a result, it is not necessary for human to perform routine work for the living. Instead, people who possess different skills are more valuable. In this sense, people have more chances and even be a necessity to develop their personal and unique skills.

In sum, in modern society, human beings have more opportunities to work in the fields that we are interested in or talented in. It largely comes from the transition of mode of our lives and also the plenty of resources nowadays provide to us.