"Most people choose a career on the basis of such pragmatic considerations as the needs of the economy, the relative ease of finding a job, and the salary they can expect to make. Hardly anyone is free to choose a career based on his or her natural talents or interest in a particular kind of work."

The author raises a controversial issue that most of the people choose their carrier against their freewill, taking more of a pragmatic and prudent approach. Inadvertently, there are many places that a pragmatic consideration will help us to get a job. Nevertheless, the job satisfaction will only come when the worker is doing a job which they like a lot or very good at. Therefore, I disagree with the topic totally as this is not true in many cases and argue that choosing a career entirely depend upon the persons outlook and family background.

First of all, we have to consider the thought process of the person seeking the job. The nature of his thought process is dependent on the culture of a particular place where he belong to.To illaborate this further, let us look at an example of a guy, live in a remote village where he is surrounded only by farmers. He may never get the exposure of the city and his father with limited outlook may encourage him to farm only, rather than asking him to be rockstar in a band or a businessman in a city, as he is not having that exposure. Whereas, in a wealthy family where there is abundant supply of information with reputed family background may get several options unlike the farmer boy. In this circumstance, it is obvious that opting a job according to our own will is not the same for every person.

Furthermore, the economic condition and the population of a nation have a huge impact on the millennials as the availability of job is not the same in every country. Specifically, in India the population is high and the economy is not wealthy enough, so the people go by the simple path of getting a good education and opting for a good job which they are not at all good at just, only for the sake of good money. Whereas, in country like Island whose population is so low that they are short of worker in there industry is simply in the opposite position to the above mentioned country. Hence, all the evidences above prove that depending upon many factors the preferences of the people may get varied.

In conclusion, although taking a pragmatic cautious approach is good enough in certain countries ,the position is not the same in every part of the world.