We venerate loyalty - to our schools, employers, institutions, friends - as a virtue. Loyalty, however, can be at least as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one.

The author raises a controversial issue of whether loyalty influence people in a detrimental way or in a beneficial way.

First of all, in any relationship loyalty plays a vital role. I would like to point out that in every relationship be it is between partners, between children and parents, employee and employers loyalty is a virtue that people crave for. For example, a person who is not loyal to his wife can end up in a huge problem when her spouse will know about the relationship from any other source. This may even end up in a divorce as the wife may never trust her husband again. In this circumstance, obviously being loyal to any relationship will make it profound and trustworthy.

Furthermore, loyalty can make people more praiseworthy than others. As a palpable example, Steven Gerrard a football player from Liverpool has played most of his matches in his childhood local club. And people nearly worship him in his club because of his constant performance and loyalty even though his one miss pass has cost them a league title once. There are some other players who are as agile and adept like him on the pitch but his loyalty makes him one of the most followed players in the world. Both common sense and past knowledge told us that if any traits of a human being can win many peoples heart then it must be the most benevolent attribute any man can possess.

Admittedly, it has many disadvantages in many cases. This is true, especially when it comes to any malpractices conducted by any organization or government. As a tangible example, let's look at the of the commanders under Hitler. Though the heinous steps taken by Hitler during the world war is not supported by his commanders, they are bound to adhere his orders. But these arguments do not lend strong support to the argument of loyalty may influence people in a detrimental way as well.

In conclusion, although there are certain deleterious aspects of loyalty, the advantages and the pride anyone can feel pledging loyalty to anyone can outdo any argument against it.