"While some leaders in government, sports, industry, and other areas attribute their success to a well-developed sense of competition, a society can better prepare its young people for leadership by instilling in them a sense of cooperation."

The topic raises a controversial issue that whether the young generation of a society need a sense of cooperation or competition to be leader on any particular sector. Indisputably, a sense of coperation is a salient quality in a leader. Nevertheless, in this competitive generation who lacks sense of competition find himself in a quagmire situation. Thus, i generally disagree with the argument that cooperation is the only quality we need to instill in a leader and rather argue that with the sense of competition one can be a true leader.

First of all, now a days job market has became very competitive. Therefore, to be part of the govermnent or the industry, first one need enter those organization by competing with millions of people. To illustrate this, let us look at the current scenario of Indian job market.For a government job in railway,in the post of Loco pilot, nearly 5 million people have applied for only three seats.In this circumstances, where people are not been able to get into the organisation, how anyone will manage to be the leader in it. Consequently, it is obvious competition is one of the quality that every young people should possess to be part of any organisation

Furthermore, country like India often suffer from economic crisis. The industry, be it is of hardware or of software is triving to get a good revenue all the time. That onus is on the employee as well. Specifically, when each and every job has become target based how anyone can do their job in a collaborative way as each and every one is having their own target to be accomplished. Both common sense and past experience told us that competition has been a part of everyworking people now a days. Hence, from all the evidence of omnipresense of competion in every field cleary makes it transparent that to be a leader you have to vie for your own position.

Admittedly, there are also some jobs which is not that competitive. This is true especially when it comes to academic activities where there are many people working on a same project looking for same outcome.Cooperation is the virtue for the team to do well. And its the duty of the leader to hold the whole group alltogether and stay focused by cooperation and dedication.But this doesnt make a strong case to oppose the position of not being competitive.

In conclusion,Although a sense of cooperation is needed in every field of organisations but without the sense of competition a leader cannot complete himself as a leader.