While some leaders in government, sports, industry, and other areas attribute their success to a well-developed sense of competition, a society can better prepare its young people for leadership by instilling in them a sense of cooperation."

Since the moment you enter high school, you are told that learning to work together in teams is a must. In order to survive college, and to survive in the the real world, you must learn to cooperate and build a sense of teamwork throughout your career and lifetime. Through teamwork, many skills are attained, but a major skill is that of leadership. Therefore, it is true that instilling youth with cooperation is the best way to prepare the youth of tomorrow for leadership positions.

A great leader knows when to ask for help and how to divide tasks within its members. A bad leader competes against its members and gets nowhere. Take for example the history of finding the structure of dna. throughout this rivaling tirage to discover that dna is a helix structure, various figures competed, and even cheated, to reach the final goal. In the end, the two people to discover the structure of dna ended up stealing the success from Rosalind franklin who had used math and x-ray crystalography to picture the first dna structure. if Crick and Watson had worked together wirth franklin, they would have discovered the whole thing more quickly. they would have been awarded together for the nobel prize and would be instilled in history for their discovery. Apart from that, they would become the leaders of science. this is seen throughout science and research. discoveries that could lead to cures for disastorous diseases are often kept to themselves because of the competitive nature of the field. No one wants to "get scooped". but if scientists worked together and had a sense of cooperation, they would be able to find answers to inumerable questions. this can only be done if society teaches youth to collaborate, to work together to find the big picture because that is the best way to become a leader.

however, some may argue that leadership is built by competition. success is sometimes defined as "who came first". A leader, on the other hand, is someone who realizes what needs to achieved, and works to reach that goal. cooperation may be the only answer to achieving success, and a great leader realizes that, and that competition will not help one reach their goal. some may say that competition fuels a person to achieve success, but that is only a temporary feeling that fades. team work, however, is not momentary and uses the strengths of every team member--not just one person--to overcome adversaries.

Overall, instilling the youth with a sense of cooperation helps them become stronger leaders, than by instilling them with a sense of competition. working together allows strengths to come amass, and relies on the knowledge of many members.