Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim states, that as individuals, we are responsible for following the just laws and disobeying unfair laws. The claim doesn't stray far from examples like the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and all the other revolutions that granted the people with the right to just laws that they get to determine. In order to achieve--as an American dreamer may call it--freedom, each individual is responsible for partaking in their governement, either by following the just laws, or by disagreeing and changing unjust laws that are not for the people.

As mentioned in the introduction, there have been many revolutions in which the people had to rise to action against unfair laws. In the United States we started a revolution because of unjust tea taxes. Individuals began by obeying just laws, but when the laws became toxic, unfair, and not for the people, it was their responsibility to revolt. However, it wasn't just because of expenisve taxes. What was needed was freedom so that everyone had access to making just laws that they could obey as a society. The same happened in France where a revolution was needed to eliminate the status quo, an unjust law that was resisted. But let's not go that far back in history. We can simply think about the present. It's our duty to follow just laws like wearing seatbelts--they are there to keep us safe. But we also have a responsibility to disobey unjust laws. In the United States, this is mainly done through civil disobedience. Individuals resist laws they believe are unjust through protests to bring about change. For example, LGBT community strived to receive equal rights and continued to protest unrepresenting laws until they acquired just laws. Therefore, individuals have a responsibility of being part of their government so that the laws are represnetive of their rights.

Furthermore, just laws are there to keep us safe. We must follow them in order to keep ourselves and others safe. For example, wearing seatbelts and not driving under the influence. Every individuals is responsible of following those laws. However, when the laws become unjust, such as the tolerance there is in the law for tolerance against DUI drivers, it is important to take action. Organizations like "Mothers Against Drunk Drivers" or MADD come together to resist unjust processes that take place when charging these drivers and to bring awareness. In the long run, organizations like this are trying to bring about change that will benefit the whole community.

On the contrary to this claim, individuals who following every rule and law live in a tyrannical or autocratic government. As cliched as it may sound "rules are meant to be broken." A current example is those who live in North Korea, a tyrannical government. Everyone must follow all the rules. Those who disobey are often sent to concentration camps, exiled, or even killed. If the contrary claim were to be true, it would be the responsibility of every individual to report every person do deserted the country, even if that meant they would be killed for doing so. Unjust laws are unjust for a reason and can result in cruel punishments for people, which is why they should be resisted if they are not for the good of society.

Therefore, until found not just, a just law should be followed to ensure the safety of yourself and others, whereas unjust laws should be resisted and disobeyed because they are usually cruel to society and result in dangerous acts. It is every individuals resposibility to keep their governement for the "people" by doing this.