Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I disagree with the statement that "every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws". If every individual starts to question the justice system based on their personal ideas, it will only create chaos. People have their own personal perspective towards a lot of things like for some people wearing a helmet while driving might ruin their hair or say the look so they might not prefer to wear it but that's against the law, its only gonna increase the chances of getting killed if the person falls, there might be another group of people who might agree with civilians owning guns for self-defense but ignore the implications like the fear creates in the people of getting killed by some maniac because of some minor reason, owing directly to the increase in crime rates.

There can be a counter argument stating, it's the people who have the responsibility to obey or not obey just and unjust laws and they are completely responsible for the circumstances of it, so if their actions cross limits the authorities like the justice system can take care of it but aren't the people involved in the justice system people too, so aren't they allowed to have their own views on particular laws. Suppose there is a Judge who is going to be giving a sentence to a man who has been accused of killing his partner because of her torturing him to an extent that it was hampering his mental health, and what if the Judge is facing the same issues too, if he had the responsibility to obey or disobey laws he might even release the guilty even though killing a person is a crime, so indirectly this will only result in unsolvable conflicts that can end up with pretty bad circumstances. People should understand that the laws laid down by the Justice System are very well thought off and voted by majority to be laid down, yes, there are a few laws that are pretty old for the time and if a lot of people think it should be replaced then it should be. But this should happen with the majority's liking. If every person starts to obey laws that he feels are just then the basic ideas of living in a democracy would be questioned i.e the rule of the majority. Those are the reasons due to which I disagree with the statement.