It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A nation’s cultural traditions are vaunted about when a citizen of a nation goes to another country. It’s how these traditions are passed on to the younger generations that prove the efficaciousness of a nation's ability to preserve its cultural traditions. The statement states that the pivoting role in preserving and generating these traditions is played by the cities of a nation, however, I believe that it’s the people of a nation that are the pith in generating and preserving traditions. I advocate this view because of the following three reasons.

To begin with, the cultural traditions of a place is not something that you acquire immediately after shifting to a new location, for instance, a person who travels a lot for work doesn’t conform to the cultural traditions of the place he is visiting next. Were the statement that cities generate and preserve the traditions of a nation true, the itinerant must have adapted the cultural traditions of the place. Well, we don’t usually see people who travel to a place say for example Saudi Arabia and start wearing the hijab? But the opposite is true. A Muslim be where ever he travels follows his/her cultural traditions hence contributing to the traditions of that place. This clearly states that it’s not the cities that affect the tradition but the people who live in them. In other words, it's the people’s traditions that affect the traditions of a city that intern affects the traditions of a nation.

Secondly, It’s the people of the country who live in small places, like the villages, that affect a nation's traditions. Let's consider India for example, What is the first image that comes to mind when we think of India? poverty, slums, jam-packed roads, mud houses, farms. This is what is shown through the media and that is what is assumed by everyone who hasn’t visited India. It’s not the metropolitans like New Delhi or Mumbai - that are envied for their skyline all over the world - that are talked about. It's implied that the traditions - cultural- that a nation has comes from these small places and not the cities. So ascribing cities to the generation and preservation of cultural traditions belies the voraciousness of the fact that people in villages and towns are the once who created these traditions and passed it on to the younger generations that later got settled in the cities.

Finally, I concede that work culture is affected by the people of the cities and can be attributed as the new cultural traditions that are arising in cities and shaping the capitalist societies and are not much different from the works and cultures that have perhaps arisen from an agricultural society. But, these similarities only apply to nations where the gap between the lives of people in the cities and villages are not much different, which is not the case in most of the developing countries. The huge gap between the agrarian and the capitalist societies causes the people to aspire for a capitalist lifestyle of the cities and cause people to move from there places and settle in cities hence affecting the cultures of the cities and causing the imbalance that we see.

Due to these reasons, I believe any argument against my views can be refuted by due deliberation and my point be made absolute, that it’s not the cities that affect the cultural traditions of a nation but the people who live in these cities.