The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The Business manager comes to a conclusion that customers are unable to differentiate butter from margarine or that they use the same term “butter” for both based on the evidence that only 2 percent of the customers complained about the change from butter to margarine and that most of the customers do not complain when given margarine in place of butter when they ask for butter. This evidences can have multiple interpretations and the following three alternate construes have to be refuted before the bank manager's conclusion can hold water.

Firstly, percentages can be misleading. 2 percent of customers complain can’t be averaged to 98 people of 100. What if the shop is not even that popular and only 10 people visit the shop on average. Moreover, as mentioned that the change is recent there is a possibility that not a lot of people have visited the shop after the change and the data includes the customers before the change too. If these explanations are not proved as false then the conclusion is severely flawed.

Secondly, the assumption that if the customers don’t complain if given margarine, when asked for butter, is treacherous. There is a possibility that the customers assume that the people in the shop do not know the difference between butter and margarine and just do with whatever they are served or that butter and margarine taste the same and look the same so the customers do not complain. If these explanations are not refuted then the pieces of evidence stated do not guarantee the soundness of the conclusion.

Finally, the assumption that change of butter from margarine in the South Western United States have not affected the people much, there is a possibility that after this news broke out all the people who preferred margarine over butter started to visit the pancake house more than the once who preferred butter hence explaining the lower complain rates. Moreover, there is a possibility that after the people got to know the news the people who preferred butter stopped going to the place, and only the once that preferred margarine where left. If this explanation is not proved as false with further evidence, the conclusion cannot be considered as something that we can trust.

The alternate explanations mentioned above can seriously question the voraciousness of the memorandum's conclusions and if not proved as untrue can mean that one of these explanations can be as valid as the explanation provided by the manager. These explanations hence, need to be unwarranted by more facts before the manager’s conclusion can be considered obtain.