The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument from the health magazine published in Corpora suggests that the physical fitness of the people is declining and the primary reason for this is the recent decline in the economy and if the economy were to improve, the fitness levels in the population is consequently to be better. The conclusion might hold water but as it stands now it is based on fallacious assumptions. Before we can declare this argument as conclusive, we need to answer three questions.

To begin with, are the old standards from twenty years ago, in any way, comparable to the current standards set for the physical fitness of the people? Can we compare the current situation to the one two decades ago? It is possible that the old standards were lenient and focused mainly on the shallow factors of fitness such as the number of repetitions the person can do a certain exercise or the physical build of the person, whether they are thin or overweight. Whereas, the current fitness standards might be more rigorous than the previous, focusing on a person’s day to day activities as well as the health of his internals such as the condition of their heart, lungs and so on. Such difference in the standards might have resulted in a decrease in the fitness rate in the population.

Furthermore, the argument suggests that one of the reasons for decreasing fitness levels is the reduction in the sales of fitness equipment, following the recent decline in the economy. However, is the economic decline the sole reason for the decrease in the sales of fitness equipment in Corpora? It is possible that people of Corpora might have realized alternatives to using fitness equipment as a more economic way of being fit. Perhaps, the interest in exercises requiring minimal equipment such as Calisthenics or Yoga has increased which led to the sales decrease in health equipment. If this is true, the fitness levels might not increase as expected even if the economic conditions were to be improved.

Moreover, can we simply rule out the possibility that computers might have played a role in the diminishing fitness levels because regions with higher computer ownership have better health? Perhaps, because of the access to computers, and consequently the internet, the people in that region are more aware about their health conditions and hence, they try to moderate their behavior for the better. Also, having the computer ownership might not necessitate better health conditions as many malady are associated with prolonged use of computers. Hence, it cannot be ruled out that computers don’t decrease physical fitness in people.

In conclusion, the argument that the improvement in economic condition will trigger the improvement in physical fitness of the people seems inconclusive. If the author were to analyze the above questions, to clear such fallacies, and research more in the topics leading to a detailed report, then the argument might hold water but as it stands now, we cannot ascertain it.