Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is, the most important consideration in any relationship.

Truth is the foundation of a healthy relationship. Personally, I believe that it is extremely important to tell truth with people you love and respect. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, people in a relationship should know everything about each other, whether it is a good or a bad aspect. If they know that their partner is truthful to them then they can trust their partner which will certainly strengthen their relation. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About a few years ago, me and my sister were very close and we would often share secrets with each other. One time I had to visit my friend but I also had to help her shopping so I lied to her telling that I had to study. I visited my friend and unfortunately, we were at the same mall and my sister saw me. She didn't say anything but she could not trust me wholeheartedly since that day. As a result, our relation took a toll and we couldn't be as open as we used to be. For this reason, I believe that it is necessary to always be truthful in a relationship.

Secondly, a relationship based on lies doesn't last long. It is evident that partners who lie to each other, sooner or later, fall apart. It is required that partners be open to each other and the relationship be founded on veracity. For instance, when a friend of mine got into a relationship, he had lied that he was an actor. But, later on, when his partner found out that he had lied, they broke up. The relationship's sole foundation was lies and consequently, it didn't last long. If he had told the truth in the beginning then the end might have been different.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is a must that partners in a relationship be truthful to each other. This is because people in a relationship should know the truth about each other, and because truthfulness leads to a long-term relationship.