Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

•Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader.

•Say nothing.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Mistakes are the best way to learn. In other words, people learn more from their mistakes than their success. Personally, I believe that the best thing to do in such a condition would be to interrupt the meeting or class and correct them right away. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, correcting the mistake right away in presence of everyone will make sure that everyone in the meeting or class will get the correct information and no one will leave the event with incorrect or partial information. If the students were to receive wrong information from the teacher then, they might interpret what they studied in the wrong way and might even share mistakes with their colleagues. Similarly, if the boss at a meeting were to share wrong information, then the employees might have a wrong view of the discussion and the chain of events led by the flow of wrong information might be catastrophic for the organization. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. At one time, a teacher of mine mistakenly interpreted a theory in the wrong way. I had studied the theory myself so I corrected him in front of the class because of which the teacher was able to correct his mistake and everyone learnt the correct theory.

Secondly, Correcting the person in front of everyone prevents a waste time later on when a lot of students might try to meet the teacher for correcting the same mistake. I cannot be sure that I will be the only one to realize the mistake. If a lot of students or employees get the mistake, they might try to meet the teacher or their boss after the event at different time and waste a lot of time of the teacher. Instead of this, if one of the person at the meet corrects the mistake, then it is not necessary to meet the teacher or the boss individually. For instance, we can usually find a lot of students surrounding the teacher for the same thing which could have been said at the meeting or class.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is better to correct the mistakes in front of everyone. This is because it allows everyone to have the same information, and also, it prevents a further waste of time.