Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Research is what paves the way for the future. Everything we have today is the boon of research scientists with profound knowledge. But, research without a certainty of safety in the future cannot be advocated. As the prompt tells us, if the consequences of a scientific research are unclear, then the Government should not fund the research. I mostly agree with this statement because of the following reasons.

Research, although done for a good cause, can have unforeseen consequences which can significantly affect the humankind in both positive or negative ways. A research with positive result can improve the situation greatly but if it leads to a negative innovation it might even cause adversity. For example, Albert Einstein, one of the pioneer of Physics in the 20th century, researched on Quantum physics and Relativity. But, his research later was used in the development of nuclear weapons, which cause loss of human lives in an unprecedented way and was caused the end of the second world war. If Einstein had never researched such aspects of physics, a significant part of human lives might have been saved. So, the possible consequences of a research should be declared beforehand if the Government is to offer any funding to the researchers.

Similarly, Research is not the only aspect the Government should be focusing on, especially if the research is not bound to produce appropriate results. The citizens of a country have different needs which should have precedence over such research activities. For example, countries like United States spending tons of money on military research for defense instead of focusing on development on Health and Food. They will claim that the research in military is for defense but if such research falls in the wrong hand, it can adversely affect the United states. Hence, Government should moderate the spending on such research and instead spend them on issues requiring immediate actions.

However, Research is what leads to innovation. Everything we have or use today came from someone's research either directly as a consequent of the research or indirectly. Scientists have unknowingly helped in development of things we use in our daily life. For example, microwave oven was invented when the heating effects of microwave were discovered whereas the original research might have been for communication using microwave. Similarly, the research of Albert Einstein might have caused development of nuclear weapons but it also significantly helped in the development of nuclear power plants for producing energy. Hence, sometimes Government should fund such research which might lead to innovations that help humanity.

In a nut shell, the decision to fund research is very complex and it depends upon a lot of factors. If the consequences of a research can be predicted and is positive, then the Government should fund them but if, the implications are negative or the consequences are unclear, then it might Government might be required to prevent funding such research. Hence, I mostly agree with the prompt and think that Government should not fund research with unclear consequences.