Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The action of our past lays the foundation for our choices today and even to our decisions in the future. To know about the past is to be able to comprehend the consequences of choices we made then and hence, to be able to apply them as necessary in the present. The prompt suggests that the past is not important for our decision making in the present. I mostly disagree with the prompt and contend that knowing and understanding about the past can help people to make important decisions today as delineated follows.

To begin with, we should learn about our past for our mistakes, if not for the progress we have made. If we can deduce what mistakes we made in the future, we are more likely to avoid such actions and consequently, devise a better decision today. For example, during the second world war, Winston Churchill, the then prime minister of the United Kingdom, analyzed his field experience from the first world war to come up with plans to get the upper hand in the war. What he learnt from the first world war, the mistakes he made and the choices he made, certainly affected the decision he made later in the following war. This transformed the outcome of the war in favor of the United Kingdom and in many ways, helped shape the world as it is today. So, knowing about the past certainly allowed Churchill to make better decisions today.

Moreover, Knowing and understanding about our past is an inseparable part of our history, our personality and our thought process. For example, If the people in Europe were oblivious about the past, the Holocaust and the reason why and how the war started then the population might share a distorted view of the past which will certainly affect their decision making. Whereas, knowing about them, has made them aware about the horrors of war and they will certainly work towards preventing decisions leading to war and hatred. The past has made them prudent and that can be seen in their cognizance of consequences of their decisions. Hence, knowing about the past helps people make important decisions today.

However, if the present situation is such that the past knowledge has no bearing on the current state then knowing the past might not be much. For example, if a decision is to be made about the use of a nascent invention with no history whatsoever then the past cannot provide us with guidance for our next step. The past might have pros and cons for a similar case, but for unprecedented events it might not be much help. In such cases, it might be more beneficial to look into the future and decide based on how such an invention might be used. So, knowing the past might not seem beneficial all the time.

The past can certainly have significant effect on our decision making for the better or the worst. However, from the above discussion it becomes clear that the past can work more towards our favor in making the world a better place. While, sometimes past events might not seem much relevant in the present scenario, it will certainly help in guiding us in a better direction.