The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company predicts that a increase in the company's advertising expenditure will result in an increase of the public's interest in their movies and hence help them garner greater amount of audiences. The argument seems plausible but is based on multiple faulty assumptions. The advertising director makes his prediction based on the assumptions that the public is oblivious to the positive reviews obtained by the movies from the company and if they can advertise them more, it is likely to receive greater attention from the public. Before we can accept the conclusion, we need to answer three questions.

To begin with, is the fewer number of people attending their movie shows due to the lack of knowledge about the positive reviews of their movies? Isn't it possible that the theatres where the movie was displayed was subpar in their hospitality to the audience? It is likely that the theatres were unmanaged with a lack of cleanliness in their hall or their services because of which people didn't want to attend the movie. Similarly, it is possible that the picture quality of the movie in the theatre was bad, and it made most people not attend such theatres altogether. If this question is answered, then we can determine if the reason people didn't attend such shows is due to the lack of knowledge about the positive reviews or not.

Secondly, How can the Super Screen's advertising director be so sure that there is no problem with the quality of their movies? Isn't the quality of a creation better judged by the audiences than the creator themselves? People are more likely to be biased about their creation and many times cannot accept that their creation is not good enough. Even if the movies are gettin better percentage of positive reviews by the reviewers, it cannot be said that a movie is great. Maybe, the movie has some cultural and traditional values, but it lacks in the qualities that mass population likes like maybe action or romance. This can explain why a few people watched the show as it was more catered towards a certain niche. So, if we can be sure that the quality of the movie is good, then we can be more sure that better advertising will help garner a greater audience.

Moreover, will allocating more budget towards the advertising department of the company necessarily mean that it will lead to a greater population. Even if they pour great amount of money in advertising, the people might be unknown to them, because they might be advertising in the wrong place. It is possible that the company advertises in relatively unknown websites or on the television when most people are asleep. So, even if they increase their advertisements it is likely that it will not reach the intended audience and consequently, lead to minimal improvement in the number of people, contradicting to their prediction. Hence, if the director makes sure to advertise in the correct means then the conclusion might hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now doesn't hold much water. The conclusion that a increase in advertising budget will increase the audience of the movie is based on fallacious reasoning and hence, cannot be readily accepted. If the director can research further to extend their argument, possibly as a detailed report, then the conclusion might be acceptable.