The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

As the memorandum from the business manager of a television station states, to sustain the advertising revenues, they should restore the time and focus for the weather and local news. The conclusion is based on the statements that there are complaints about the coverage of weather and local news and also, the advertising revenue of the television station is declining. Before we can accept the conclusion, we need to answer three questions.

First of all, is the complaints from the viewers about the lack of coverage of local news and weather at all? Could they have been complaining about the quality of the news coverage by the station? For example, it is possible that the television station uses low quality video and audio equipments for recording their news and weather programs. The people might have been complaining that the coverage is unclear or the audio is unrecognizable. It is also possible that the local news by this television station might be biased towards a group or party and the people might have been complaining about it. So, the conclusion to increase time to such programs might be a futile attempt if other issues related to the coverage is not corrected.

Similarly, did the advertising company cancel it's contract with the television station because of a lack of local news and weather coverage or due to lack of audience during the late hours? Is it possible that the reception of the late night news program is really bad and hardly any people watch it? There is a great possibility that there is very less audience during the late night news program. Most of the people might be asleep during the late night show and the advertising company might see that it is not beneficial for them to invest. Or, the advertising might have observed that the advertisements shown during the day time were more likely to make sales than during the night. These might have been the reasons for the advertising company to cancel their contracts with the television station.

Also, is a increase in time for weather and news programs, sure to increase revenue for the TV station? Isn't it possible that other fallacy of the station likely to affect such programs? For example, without a proper analysis of why the revenue in previous situations decreased and why the people complained about the programs, just increasing the time for the programs might not be enough. The problems pre-existing in the station might adversely affect the programs, like using the same equipments, same news and weathor anchors or the same style of news dissemination, etc. So, the station might have to look into its fallacies before coming to the conclusion to increase the time devoted for such programs.

Hence, from the above discussion, it is clear that the argument, as it stands now, is flawed and more analysis to the situation to obtain new evidences that support the conclusion is required. Some better evidences might be a more detailed analysis of the complaints from the people and what they are complaining about and the station might need to look into the reception of the late night shows. So, the argument is flawed in many ways and the conclusion cannot be accepted.