The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author asserts that since most complaints during the last year was from the reduction of weather an local news sections, and corporations has cancelled their advertising contracts, they should lengthen these parts of the news in their programs. However, the author fails to give evidence about some issues such as, the complaints regarding these sections are truly due to reduced length, the relationship between advertisements and local news, and finally why they should implement this practice in all their programs.

First of all, dissent towards these sections might not be the result of the shortened time. Viewers could be frustrated about the quality of these sections because they are not focusing on the important issues such as economy of the community or the possibility of rain for following days. In addition, the new company might be failing to forecast the weather because of global warming and the residents could be blaming the television station. Although this asseveration could be correct if the only change in these sections are their length and the complaints have increased since, it does not give enough information to substantiate the argument.

Next, the relationship between advertisements renouncement and local news time reduction is not clearly stated. There is a possibility that companies are withdrawing their advertisements because of the depravity of budgets due to the economic crisis, or they could have found a better source of advertisements such as the smartphones. Nevertheless, the author could be correct if the corporations rescinded their contracts because reduced time in local news section also lead to a reduced advertisement time. Still, the author should have elaborated more on the issue to make the argument coherent.

Finally, there is no sound reason to apply this altercation to all new programs instead of the late night program. In the district, most people who watch the news may not be able to view day time or morning news because of they overlap with work time. Consequently, the late night news could be the most influential program of the station, and ameliorating this program would be sufficient to attract viewers and commercials. Nonetheless, there is a possibility that all programs are similarly influencial and a amendment in all of them could result in propitious results, but supporting evidence are missing.

In conclusion, to be further persuasive, the author should provide additional facts about the issue. First, the author should clarify that whether the complaints were directed to the decreased time of the sections or due to other influences. In addition, the passage misses the correlation between the nullification of advertisement contracts and the changed schedule of the programs, and finally substantiate why the TV station should apply this change to all programs.