The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is regarding a memorandum from business manager of a television station claiming that the weather and local news time should be changed to former level. The argument is rife with assumptions and unable to consider the evidence of impact of weather and local news cast and loss of viewers and revenue. The argument is failed to make a cogent case to claim that restoring telecasting time of local and weather news will help to revive the revenue and customers.

First of all, one year time has been considered of telecasting national news for more time and less time of weather and local news during late night telecasting. It may be possible that early decision of television station to increase the time of national news during late night due to preferences of customers in their telecasting area. Few people may like national news, whereas few may prefer to watch local and weather news during day. So the statement regarding the complaints cannot be justified by this much given information.

Since, author mentioned that most of the complaints by the viewers were concerned to weather and local news. It did not take into consideration the sample size of complaints received by the viewers. There is quiet possibility of different viewers' different preferences. The received complaints may be by few viewers who prefer to watch local and weather news during day and they also might be interest ed in watching national news at night.

Thirdly, the author mentioned about the local-businesses who canceled their advertising contracts during late nights. There are different possibilities that can influence this decision as local-businesses cannot afford the late night advertising. It may be possible that small local-businesses feel that late night advertising is not fruitful for their business. They may want to telecast their advertisements during day and choose a station which can provide them affordable advertising rates. The author would have been benefited by providing the supporting evidence of change in decision of local-businesses.

Fourthly, the author considered the problem of loosing customers and revenues due to cancellation of contracts, which is due to less time devoted to local and weather news. There could be other relevant reasons of low viewer rate and loss of revenues which can be considered. It is hard to draw a claim that telecasting the local and weather news as former time level will help to restore the revenue and customers.

Hence, the author's argument can unable to make its valid case to claim that television station should restore its time devoted to weather and local news. This argument lacks the supporting evidence; providing strong