The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

In the memorandum, the business manager of a television station states that they should increase the time of weather and local news and simultaneously should reduce the time of national news. As there were many complains regarding the station coverage of late night shows, author wants to restore the time devoted to weather and local news.

The argument above is well presented and appears to be relatively sound at first glance: since the revenues achieved through advertising are going down and viewers are making a lot of complains about the way the programs. However as more light is shed on the issue and detailed facts are concerned, possibility of alternative explanation leads to more questions regarding the validity of the argument.

first, the author asserts about receiving the complains from their viewers, but fails to mention what type of complains they are receiving. there might be the possibility that these complains are about something else like the way the anchors are presenting the program, or about the content of the program. The content /uality has been going down day by day and it is making the staunch viewers restive. also, author dis not mention how many complains were there, it might be possible only one person is registering the complain multiple times. Moreover, without further details about the complains it is very difficult to draw any conclusion.

second, author cites that local businesses has cancelled their advertising contract with them. A lot os assumptions is going on here, without proper statistics it is hard to say why the local business cancelled the contract. also, one or two local businesses cancelling the contract does not mean it will effect the station untill a lot of money was involved in the contract and it was very lucrative for the station. also, what if few more businesses with big money deals also started the business with the station to cover the entire nation.

In summary, argument is not as much convincing as it seems, it could be more persuasive if author has provided more facts, figures, statistics about the information given along with some other data. argument can be convincing if author has answered few questions in the argument like, how many viewers has cancelled the contract?, how much revenue the business making before and after the cancellation of the contract?, how many users registered the complains? Were the new users or the old users? A television station earns popularity and advertisement contracts based upon the quantity and content of the program. if author wants to make the argument more cogent proper data needs to be presented.