The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the argument, the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment writes to the building manager to restrict the of water so that more water can be saved and this will result in reduced amount of water bill. Author provides various reasoning in terms of reduced bill, number of complaints etc.

The argument above seems well presented and appears to be relatively sound: since one third of the water flow will make the Sunnyside Corporation to pay less for the bills. However, as more light is shed and facts are concerned, the possibility of alternative explanation leads to question the validity of the argument.

First, author states that reduction in the water flow is directly propotional to the amount decrement, the corporation has to pay. Here, author did not consider there might be a chance that people will open the taps for a longer time to get the quantity of water they required. Which will make no difference in the quantity used. Furthermore, people can leave the taps open to fill the required amount and later can forget to close it and a lot of water will be wasted instead of saving.

Also, author does not think that there is a need for actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment. Without actual data how the conclusion is drawn? This is complete failure to assume and not valid to make assumption without any proper statistical data is provided.

Second, author does not mention how many complains did they receive? what is the severity of the complains. If the water pressure is low on the lower ground, the higher floors will not get water at all which will create a problem for the entire building. Also, some floors cannot have water at all and in that case there is no point of reducing the amount of water. There will be a amount associated while making the adjustments to water flow reduction and if Sunnyside corporation gets it done without proper reasoning, it might result in loss of it. They have to redone the adjustments which does not seem lucrative thought at all. Instead it will be a loss.

In summary , author does not take into account the substantial data to make the argument. It can be more persuasive if she has provided why the amount of water is reduce to one third. What was the specific reason to stick to that amount. What kind of complains were there and how they impacted the residents of the buildings. If author had have considered substantial statistical data along with charts, graph calculations things might have been different and this argument can be more cogent to understand.