The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter from the owner of the Sunnyside towers apartment building to its manager, it is stated that the restricted water flow in all the floors of the apartment will increase overall profit stating the reasons that there were few complains from the tenants and no problems have been reported to them. Well, on the surface the argument presented by the owner seems plausible but three questions must be answered to fully evaluate the recommendation.

Firstly, is there any saving of water at all? As the owner has stated that actual reading are not yet available, the actual saving could not be determnined. It may be the case that, the tenants have bypassing the regulated shower heads and had been using the water as before. In addition, it may be possible that, people have using wasting water on other taps other than showerhead. So, if any of the above cases is true then the argument presented by the owner on the letter is significantly weakened.

Secondly, how serious were the complains from the tenants? The owner has mentioned about the few complains regarding the issue, but have not mentioned about the seriousness of the complains. It is plausible that, the complains regarding the low water pressure was serious, as the result of the restricted the pipe containing the water may have leaked or brust open. In addition, it is possible that it has been impossible to shower from the showerhead beacause of the restricted water flow in the showerhead. Therefore, if any of the above cases hold water then the argument presented by the owner in the original letter is seriously hampered.

Thirdly, even if we assume that the complains were not serious and there is no considerable problem right now, will it be the same case for if all 20 floors's showerhead are restricted? It is well within the possibility that the problem of low water pressure will increase. Moreover, it is also be possible that due to restricted on high number of showerhead, the pipe may explode due to high pressure. So, if above cases are have merit then the argument of the original letter is considerably hindered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of its reliance n several unwarrented assumptions. If the author of the letter is able to provide more evidences and answer the above three questions in systematic mannner then it will be possible to properly evaluate recommendation made by the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment regarding the restriction water flow in showerhead.