The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

In the letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria, it is recommended to charge the people who uses the beach in the Tria island and use that raised money to improve the condition of the island. While the suggestion seems plausible at first glance under close inspection it is full of unstated assumptions. Strong pieces of evidence are required to justify those assumptions.

To begin with, strong evidence is required to justify the assumption that the mentioned Tria and Batia islands are comparable. It is possible that the beaches of the Tria island are different compared to beaches of Batia island. It may be the case that sand at the Tria is more susceptible to the erosion as compared to the Batia island. It is also possible that Batia island is situated at the low tide zone as a result of which the erosion can be controlled effectively. So, if the above cases are true then the argument presented by the author in the original letter is significantly weakened.

Secondly, even if we assume that the geographical conditions of both islands are same. Evidence is required to justify that the charging people will generate enough money to start the conservation process of the beaches in Tria island. It may be the case that only few people visit the beaches of the island of Tria and charging them will not raise enough money for the conservation plan. It may also be the case that after charge is placed to visit the beaches of the island there will be huge reduction in the tourists as they do not want to pay just to visit the island. The tourism bureau should conduct a systematic survey to find out the people who will pay to visit the beach then decide on this recommendation.

Thirdly, the evidence is required to justify the claim that Trias's tourist industry will improve over long term by preservation. It is possible that tourism industry will decline in coming years because of the charge that has been placed on the people just for visiting the beach. It is also possible that due to global warming the island may sink in the coming years. It may also be the case that the cost of conservation will be huge and it will be difficult for the industry to recover from that. If the above cases hold water then the argument presented in the original letter is significantly hampered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the author of the letter is able to provide the evidence as specified in the above paragraphs in a systematic manner then it will be possible to fully evaluate the recommendation of charging people for visiting the