The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

In the memorandum from the business manager of the stated television company, suggests that local news and weather news should be prioritized over the national stating the reasons that the complains over the year in the station were concerned with local news and weather news and recent removal of advertisement from the local business. But upon close inspection the reasons is unwarranted and three questions must be answered before the suggestion can be properly evaluated.

Firstly, Did the local business cancelled the advertisement just because of the lack of local and weather news? It may be the case that, the business was declining and had to make some cutbacks with include the removal of advertisement from the television. It may be also the case that the TV station was broadcasting some objectionable content in other programs which resulted in cancellation of the advertisement contract with the TV station. If above mentioned things have merit then the conclusion drawn in the original memorandum is significantly hindered.

Secondly, will there be more viewers and advertisement just because there are more local and weather news? In this time, people are moving away from the television set, towards the more portable forms of media like Youtube, Netflix for entertainment and news. It may be possible that even though TV starts broadcasting local and weather news viewers may not attracted to the television. In the case of advertisement, it may be the case that the there is no return of investment form this particular television. So, if any of the above mentioned reason is true then the conclusion drawn int he original argument is considerably hampered.

Thirdly, Were the complains that were received were specifically regarding the lack of content of local news or weather news? It may be the case that the complains were regarding the quality of the content that is being televised in the television. For instance, the complains may be regarding the false weather news, or the fake local news. If the above mentioned reason hold water then the suggestion of the original memorandum can be seriously questioned.

In conclusion, the argument presented by the business manager of the television station, as it stands is considerably flawed because of its dependence on various unwarranted assumptions. If the speaker of the passage is able to more evidence and answer the above three questions then it will be possible to evaluate the suggestion of restoring the time that was devoted to weather and local news previously.