The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Change and death is the only certain thing in our human lives. The prompt suggests that the main advantage to study history us to dismiss the proposition that the modern lifestyle is considerably different from the previous times. I strongly disagree with the statement and argue that there is a significant difference between the lifestyle of the people form modern and previous times and the study of history clearly shows this difference because of the following three reasons.

To begin with, technological advancement in recent times have made our contemporary lifestyle easier and convenient. Due to the influx of different technological inventions, now it possible to perform the tasks that were deemed impossible in the recent past. For instance, the idea of a video conference will be absurd in an era where there was not even a telephone. Comparison of the previous era and saying that life in those times is no different than it is today is not prudent. Now people can travel from one end of the world to another in a relatively short amount of time, previously it was impossible before the invention of ships and boats, then it was kind of possible but used to take a lot of time. The after series of advancements in ship technology and the invention of the airplane, the travel time was reduced. So, as we can see that, there is always the possibility of further advancement and the situation is changing day by day, we can argue that the lives of the future generation will also be different. We can even see the difference in a short amount of time. For instance, take world war one and world war two. Even though they were spaced around only 2 decades, the advancement in the military and warfare makes the war different. For example, in world war one there were no tanks or aircraft, but in world war two there was a heavy influx of aircraft and tanks. Therefore, due to the huge advancement in the field of technology, the lives of the people are considerably different from what it used to be.

Moreover, advancement is in the field of medicine is also important. Before people used to die because of diseases like tuberculosis, dengue, etc which now seems absurd, as the treatment of those diseases has become commonplace. Different viruses have been eradicated, complex drugs have been formulated for the once life-threatening dangerous diseases. We can only imagine the lifestyle of the people in previous times where there was an epidemic of the diseases everywhere, people constantly living in the fear of dying the next day. Now the situation is completely different, and it is changing rapidly, we can hope that the diseases that are troubling us today like AIDS, Ebola will be eradicated someday, and lives of that generation will be different from what it is now. So, because of the constant research and advancement in the medical field, we have managed to get rid of some dangerous diseases of the previous times where it used to cause disturbance to the huge population, the life of the people living in this generation has become better at least in the field of medicine.

Finally, there is the evolution of the people. People have now become more global than ever before. The language has evolved and changed. The English form the 18th century is far different from the English from today. The people from 18th century England will not understand the people from present-day England and vice versa. There is the evolution of plants and animals also. Some have gone extinct and some new have been discovered. Similarly, the geography also changes with time. The region once covered with ice is a desert now, and where there was dessert now dense forest. So, with all these changes it can be said with confidence the lifestyle of the people will also be different.

However, one can argue that people are the same even though the environment has changed. The society still discriminates people based on class. Poverty is still going on. The wars are still being fought. People have the same desire and greed. But I think these above-mentioned issues are inherent in human life and cannot be completely changed even in the future and think they are trivial as compared to other huge changes in the society as mentioned in previous paragraphs.

In the final analysis, I think that the lifestyle and people are evolving day by day, people will be different in different generations with varying qualities and the study of history regularly shows this evolution.