The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo from the new vice president of men's clothing manufacturing company Satorian, recommends that the company should resume the production of their previously discontinued alpaca overcoat. The manager based his suggestion on the evidences, that none of the competitors have comparable products, the outcry from the customer when it was discontinued and increase in overall price of the clothing. But before this suggestion can be properly evaluated, the three assumptions made by the manager should be critically analyzed.

Firstly, the manager assumes that the quality of the fabric will be same as before. It might be possible that the new fabric supplier provides low quality materials than previous suppliers. Perhaps, the high quality wool fabric that was previously used is no longer available in the market, it is cheap substitute is being used everywhere. If the above cases are true then the argument of the original memo is encumbered.

Secondly, manager assumes that the customers will come back after five years of discontinuity of the production. Perhaps, within in this five years the fashion choices of the people have changed drastically, people are no longer interested in he alpaca overcoats, as they were before. Similarly, it might also be the case that, during this five years of discontinuity, customers have found other brands and are now inclined towards those brands. So, if the above cases hold water then the argument presented by the author in the memo is significantly hampered.

Thirdly, even if we assume that customers will come back and buy the new overcoats, the manager assumes that the profit will be more that ever before. It might be the case that, high- quality wool fabric provided by the new supplier is to be transported from very far away, which in turn increases the cost of the raw materials needed and thereby reducing the overall profit. It might also be the case that, the wool fabric provided by the new supplier need more filtration and refining than before, which will again increase the cost of production of the coats. So, if the above mentioned situations are true, then the argument presented by the author in the original memo is considerably hindered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the manager is able to provides systematic evidences for the above mentioned assumptions, then the recommendation provided by the manager of the Sartoian company regarding the resumption of alapca overcoat can be properly evaluated.