The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

The above argument is presented by the vice president of a men’s clothing company – Sartorian, which affirms the increase in profits of the company on resuming the manufacturing and selling of alpaca overcoats after the duration of 5 years. Although the facts and supporting statements mentioned by the vice president in the argument seem convincing, they are specious and a further analysis of the argument needs to be done to come to any conclusion.

Firstly, the vice president mentions that the production of alpaca overcoats was discontinued because of absence of any reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric. Even though the argument states that a new supplier has been found by the company, it doesn’t mention anything about the quality of fabric. Nor does it make any comparisons between the suppliers. If the quality of fabric is not on par with the earlier one or for that matter, with the ones available in the market from other manufacturers, the demand for it will be too less to make any considerable change on the profits of the company.

Secondly, the vice president is comparing two scenarios separated by a gap of 5 years. Many things might have changed across this time gap. Usually, the fashion trends don’t remain the same over the years and there is a high chance of alpaca overcoats having gone out of trend. This might be the very reason why Sartorian’s major competitor has stopped producing alpaca overcoats in the first place. In that case we can easily assume that the demand for it would be too low and the conclusion of the vice president can be negated. The author should make a market analysis of the demand of the overcoats and try to find out reasons why the major competitor has stopped its production.

Also, the statement of the author regarding the correlation between prices of other types of clothing and alpaca overcoats is not credible. Prices in the market solely depend on the demand for the items. The brand name of any company will matter only when there is a demand for the items produced by the company. Different types of clothing have different popularity in the market. Only because one kind of clothing is being profitable for the company doesn’t insinuate or conclude anything about the profitability of any other kinds of clothing sold by the same company. The author must add some more facts to support his theory.

Lastly, the author is assuming that the only producer of alpaca overcoats apart from Sartorian is their major competitors. Even if there is a scope of profitability in producing the overcoats, the author cant directly guarantee profits on the basis that the competitor has stopped producing the coats. There might be other small producers in the market. If the popularity and prices of the overcoats sold by these small producers are comparable, then even they can pose a threat to the sales of the same.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument produced by the vice president is not cogent enough and needs more supporting evidence. If only proper market and situation analysis along with the comparisons of available fabric with the ones used 5 years back as well as those used by other vendors is provided, can a proper conclusion be found.