The best way for society to prepare it's young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Right now the world is striving towards globalization which includes cooperation among all the nation in the world. Here, the prompt suggests that by teaching young people a sense of cooperation rather than competition is the best way to prepare them for leadership in various areas like government, industry, etc. I mostly agree with the statement and think that instilling a sense of cooperation is one of the best way to prepare young people for career in leadership.

To begin with, cooperation is needed in today's modern world where most of the countries are interconnected with each other by various means like economy, trade, border, aid, etc. Effective leader in this day and age should be familiar with this interconnection and should work to bolster this connection. To bolster this connection the leader should be cooperative in nature as the culture, tradition, policy, etc of another country is completely different.

Secondly, with the sense of cooperation among the people in any work place the productivity will increase. The sense of cooperation can only be established in the workplace if the boss or the leader believes in cooperation. For instance, in a case of engineering firm, let us suppose we have two talented structural engineers. If the boss with the firm believer of cooperation will delegate the work to both engineers to be done together. In doing so, both engineers can share ideas and the design is bound to be better than the design if they have worked independently. So a leader with a better sense of cooperation can inspire the employees for cooperation and increase the productivity.

However, in some of the fields like sales, the sense of competition can harness a better result among the employees. For instance, in some work place, if there is bonus for a highest number of sales then employees with compete against each other for that bonus. In this way the worker will gain more experience about the sales and company will have more profit. So, in this kind of field a leader who can inspire a sense of competition among the employees will be effective.

In conclusion, teaching cooperation among the young people is one of the best way to prepare them for leadership position as sense of cooperation is needed in modern globalized word and sense of cooperation can bolster the productivity of the work place.