The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memo from the vice president of a food distribution company, he argues that the Fly-Away Pest Control company has been negligent in their work by stating the reasons that the damage from pest in the warehouse in Plam City where Fly-Away was used was around 10,000 dollars higher than the damage done by pest in the another warehouse in Wintervale which was serviced by another company Buzzoff. The reasons stated by the manager seems plausible at first glance, but under close inspection it is full of assumptions in different situations. Alternative explanations can be given for those situations as follows.

To begin, it is possible that the food stored in the different warehouses were not comparable. It may be the case that, the food in the warehouse in the Plam City were expensive at the first place, and the food in the Wintervale house were less expensive as compared to Plam city. Moreover, it may also be the case that in Wintervale the food stored were less than that of the Plam city. It is also possible that, the food stored in the Wintervale Warehouse was less vulnerable to the attack form the pest as compared to the food in the warehouse of Plam City. So, if any of the above cases have merit, then the argument presented by the vice president in the memo is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it may be the case that the location of the warehouse are completely different. It is possible that Plam City is located in the climate zone where pest are usually more while Wintervale has less pest. It also possible that the conditions of the warehouse are different. The warehouse in Wintervale may be relatively new while Warehouse in Plam City is considerably old, which may attract more pest. In addition, it may be the case that warhouse in Wintervale was regularly maintained while warehouse in Plam City was not. Therefore, if the above cases are true then then the argument presented by the vice president in the original memo is significantly hampered.

Thirdly, even if we assume that the food stored in the both warehouse similar and both warehouse are in similar location with similar condition, it is possible that Fly-Away was hired to for relatively low amount to do a cursory job while the Buzzoff were hired for more amount to do more detailed job of pest control. It is possible that, the Fly-Away used different kind of chemical which were not effective as that of Buzzoff. So, if any of the above cases hold water then the argument in the original memo is markedly hindered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands is considerably flawed because of its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author of the memo is able to provide more evidence in the systematic manner and provide counter evidence to above three alternative explanations then it will be possible to properly evaluate the argument that the Fly-Away were more negligent.