78 The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

The author suggests returning to Buzzoff for pest control service because the value of the food destroyed in Wintervale, controlled by Buzzoff, is less than the one in palm city by Fly-Away pest control company. this argument is plagued by a number of assumptions.

The writer reports the lost in palm city, controlled by Fly-Away pest control company, by pest damage is twice of the one controlled by Buzzoff in Wintervale. An assumption here is that both sides have the same food and the identical background to assess the loss in Wintervale and palm city, however some credentials has to be presented before the comparison is made. if both locations have kept exactly the same amount of food, environment condition, and the same weather, then we may make a comparison. Yet if the location of palm city is in tropical and Wintervale in high latitude, the former is more vulnerable to pest damage. unless the author could present essential evidence to provide full weather detail, conservation environment and how much value of food kept in two locations, the returning should not be considered.

Moreover, the author suggests that even the price of Fly-Away is lower than Buzzoff, however, as implied in the argument, because of more loss by Fly-Away, it is recommended to return to buzzoff for all our pest control services. The statement is based on the assumption that Fly-away costs more Buzzoff in overall, considering service fee and lost by pest damage, so it is better to return to Buzzoff. this inference is not clear, however, more details are required to provide. if the cost of Buzzoff is less than Fly-Away under the same condition and the same conserving scale, then it does make sense. On the other hand, if the food controlled by Fly-Away is ten times as much as Bzzoff is, then the percentage of loss by pest damage in palm city is only one-fifth compared to the one in Wintervale. Thus, the author needs to offer the evidence about cost and the mount of business controlled by both companies.

even though the price charged by Fly-Away is really lower than Wintervale, the assumption based merely on the last month performance is problematic. The performance in last month could not be fully-representative obviously. For example, probably, Fly-Away had superb performance without any loss by pest damage until last month; Wintervale had terrible results until last month. unless the more past data are demonstrated to be fully representative, the author is barely to conclude that Buzzoff is a better choice.

In order to make the argument more cogent, the author needs to address the questions above mentioned.