Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people believe that a diverse type of work could more satisfy labors than a fixed one. However, in my belief, it has been a subjective topic and dependent on personal career expectations. People who are passionate about a particular task would not like to engage in different kinds of jobs. On the other hand, those who are easily getting bored with routine jobs are more likely to involve in many kinds of work.

Firstly, people who love to try different things are more likely to do different kinds of tasks. They might have diverse interests and not particularly focus on one field, so they are more likely to try to do different jobs to get the personal achievement and satisfaction. For example, Mozart is a talented musician. He was not only a great composer but also a player. His famous symphony has been favored and his playing skill is also excellent. He was expected to be obviously not satisfied if he were only composing.

Secondly, nevertheless, some people just want to focus on a specific task and don't want to be bothered by others. In other words, they are only interested in this kind of task. For instance, most scientists would like to do research out of interest. If they are required to deal with financial tasks, then they would not be happy. Because they are distracted from their interest, they would not be satisfied at all, even get irritated. Therefore, for those who have dedicated interest in their tasks, they would not be more satisfied with more different types of jobs.

Lastly, many people do not care about the content of their jobs because they just want to get a higher salary and not combine their interests with careers. For example, there are hundreds of thousands of workers working in factories in China assembling smartphones. Because of low wages, they are living under the poverty line and barely sustain their lives. What they think about is earning money, they do not pursue higher life goal. Another example is that many Africans living in a rural area, they don't have the necessary resource to survive, not to mention the content of jobs. Therefore, poor people are less likely to care about the content of jobs.

In conclusion, whether types of tasks would satisfy workers more is a subjective question. Scientists tend to focus their interest area, and passionate learners would satisfy with diverse tasks while poor people have no choice.