The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that reducing the on-the-job accident by shortening work by one hour gets adequate rest. However, the argument is plagued with the skewed assumption that the writer needs to address.

The author in the argument claims that Panoply Industries Plant has fewer accidents because it has fewer work hours compared to Quiot Manufacturing. Still, the assumption here is that both of them have the same background as well as the type of the industry. It is possible that the major business of Quiot Manufacturing is metal cutting and require lots of labors to work with cutting machine which is very dangerous to people, While Panoply Industries Plant responses for the micro process assembly and the operation of that machine is pretty safe. Therefore, the assumptions of the detailed background of two factories have to be presented to make the argument more cogent.

Besides, the writer mentions that experts say remarkable contributing factors in on-the-job accidents are fatigue and insufficient sleep. The assumption here is that the experts have the capabilities to analyze the root causes of the labor accident. It could be true if “experts” come from the 3rd authoritative institution and have already famous publications in the top-ranking journal regarding the labor accidents impact on the amount of sleep. However, that could be totally different story if they are just graduated from universities and don’t have much experience with the labor accident analysis. The writer has to consider the assumption mentioned above and it is suggested to use 3rd party report about to do cross-checking to make the argument convincing.

Additionally, the author implies that reducing 1 work hour could benefit productivity as well as reducing the accident rate. Nevertheless, the assumption is that every labor uses the additional hour as sleeping time properly. It is possible that lots of workers would like to drink after work and they go to the drinking store 1 hour earlier, so they would drink more than they did before and they become more tired the next day. Moreover, some of the workers play online game and they use the extra 1 hour playing more online games and not go to the bad all night. The benefit would be much less than the expectation of the author, so he or she needs to consider the assumption about how they use the leisure time after the additional 1-hour shift.

Furthermore, the writer also proposes that the past year's data about accidents comparing Quiot Manufacturing to Panoply Industrial Plant is credible and we could trust it. The assumption here is that the data is enough representative. It is possible that the accident rate of Quiot Manufacturing was actually much lower than that of Panoply industrial Plant before the past year. And the peak accident data from last year just because a new building was established and extra accidents happened during the construction. Except for the accidents from the building construction, the number of actual accidentals of Quiot Manufacturing is only as much as half of that of Panoply Industrial Plant. The assumption of the representation of the data should be addressed by the author and earlier years data is recommended to preset to strengthen the argument.

In conclusion, the readers couldn’t believe the argument unless the assumption mentioned above is explained.