The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author compares to pest control companies Fly-Away Pest Control and Buzzoff Pest Control Company and says Buzzoff pest control is better than the other one based on some information.

The argument above is well presented and seems relatively sound at very first glance: since in case of Fly-Away pest control , $20000 had been destroyed by pest damange in comparison with $10,000 worth food in case of Buzzoff Pest control. However, if more light is shed on the argument and more detailed facts are provided different explanation can be provided and this can lead to many questions which needs to be answered to make the argument persuasive.

First of all, author compares the $20,000 worth wasted food with $10,000 wasted food without considering the quantity of the food. Author assumes that services of Fly-Away is not satisfactory because they money associated with the food is more than Buzzoff , however food can be costly and less in quantity making Fly-Away more successful in destroying pests.

second, author does not give any other information which can make the argument more persuasive like weather conditions. There might be a possibility that weather conditions are different in both cities. Author also fails to mention when and in which month the services of the two business are acquired. The services of Fly-Away pest control is taken last month and we dont get any further data. What if the weather is humid and torrid in that month which can lead to more of pests as compared to when did Food Storage company acquired the services of Buzzoff. If the weather conditions are different in the two cities, it is illogical to make a comparison between two cities.

Further, Author also lacks in providing any kind of statistical evidence-bar chart, pie chart, graph etc., which might answer few questions. Author should have done a complete and objective analysis of the two companies working patterns, timings in order to find out which one is most effective.

In summary, argument is not so convincing as it seems. Without facts, figures, statistics argument will lie on the wrong side of the ledger. To make it more convincing author should answer few things as the quantity of the food , weather conditions in the two cities, whether food quantity was same for both of the companies etc.