The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A recommendation by the committee planning a ten year budget for the city of Calatrava suggest that the funding budgeted for education during the next decade should be reduced. Such a step is bolstered by the evidence that the birth rate in Calatrava is decreasing. Moreover, it states that the city should pool more funds towards programs and facilities used by adults as it is predicted that the adult population will increase. The prediction as well as the evidences provided seem legible during the first read. Although, a close look unearths some discrepancies in the assumptions and the evidences that might prove the final prediction fallacious.

Firstly, the recommendation states that since the birth rate is decreasing over the past five years, it will keep on decreasing over the next decade. Such an assumption is completely baseless, moreover there is no evidence provided in the passage to back such a claim. Even if we assume that the birth rate will decrease over the next decade, it does not justify the plan that the funds towards education should be reduced. What if the students from neighboring cities come to Calatrava for education? This could mean that the education sector is a source of income for Calatrava and reducing the budget for education can lead to a loss of standard of education at Calatrava. Students would refrain form coming to Calatrava anymore and this could have detrimental financial ramifications on Calatrava.

Secondly, the arguer falsely attributes the use of athletic playing fields and recreational facilities only to kids. The arguer implies that since there would be less number of kids using recreational facilities, the funding towards these facilities can be reduced. What if the adults at Calatrava use the athletic playing fields as a form of physical activity? The reduction in funds could lead to a decline in the quality of athletic fields as wee as recreational facilities. As a result, it might infuriate the adults of Calatrava and prove the arguer's plan to be completely erroneous.

Lastly, the arguer suggests that since the number of adults would increase in comparison to the number of kids, funds should be diverted towards programs and facilities used by adults. The arguer fails to provide a conclusive evidence that the number of adults in Calatrava will increase over the next decade. What if the adults in Calatrava plan to move away to a different city? What if the kids that graduate from college find a more lucrative job outside Calatrava? Then it is likely that these kids will settle close to their new job location. Hence, it could mean that investing in city facilities and programs for adults would be a waste of money since there would be hardly any adult left in Calatrava to take advantage of such programs. Such a scenario would again call into question the arguer's prediction.

In sum, the arguer has failed to provide convincing evidences to back his claim. The evidences provided are dubious, as a result it cannot be categorically stated if the arguer's prediction would be a successful one.