Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The above given prompt starts by describing the arctic deer, the regions of the world it inhabits, and the common trend followed by an arctic deer to search for food. According to a few local hunters, it has been reported that the arctic deer population is depleting. The inability of the deers to follow their migration pattern because of environmental changes occurring due to global warming has been attributed as the main cause for their declining population. The evidences and assumptions stated above provide a convincing argument when it is read the first time, but close scrutiny unearths a few competing possibilities that could cast doubt on the reliability of the conclusion that has been drawn.

Firstly, the reports related to deers declining was received from local hunters. As the prefix suggests "local", these hunters are confined to a area and the observation of dears declining is possibly what they perceive in their particular area. It is possible that elsewhere in the arctic region, the number of deers has maintained a steady number. Therefore, it is highly probable that the reports received form local hunters is not accurately depicting the true picture.

Secondly, the global warming trends occurring across the globe does not provide a conclusive evidence of whether the same phenomena of ice melting is occurring in the arctic region as well. The arctic region has its own demographic structure, unique to itself. It can be possible that the rate and the time at which the ice melts is not the same as, observed elsewhere in the world. It can be possible that the ice in the arctic region is melting at a considerably reduced rate which provides deers with enough time to migrate from one island to another and procure food. This would again suggest that the number of deers in the arctic region has not declined. On the contrary, if the number of deers is actually going downhill, it cannot be conclusively stated that global warming is the cause of this problem.

Moreover, it can be highly possible that the real reason for the decline in dear population, if it is the case, is due to an increase in the number of hunters in the arctic region. This would define the reason for attributing the decline of deer population to global warming. This would enable these hunters to get acquitted and continue with their malpractices.

The above prompt cannot categorically convince a reader that global warming is the reason for the decline in dear population. There are several other assumptions and possibilities which when considered, prove the conclusion to dubious and inconclusive.