The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis suggests that they should re-implement the urban renewal program that was implemented in the city ten years ago, and which provided great benefits for the city as a whole. The arguer states that freeing up land, by relocating the people would not be problem. The arguer's recommendation seems convincing when it is read for the first time, although when we mull over the recommendation, alternate possibilities come to light which might undermine the arguer's recommendation.

Firstly, the arguer states that the urban renewal program will provide exactly the same results as it did ten-years ago, and in the process revitalize the city further. The arguer fails to provide evidence in the form of data to support such a claim. What if new factories fail to develop on the newly freed up land? What if the crime rate does not decrease further? What if the property tax collected does not increase? All such questions can be answered if a thorough demographic study is conducted on the city. The arguer bolsters his claim by providing evidence of instances that happened ten years ago. It might be the case that such positive effects do not occur this time around. Hence, without a detailed study, the planning department's recommendation might not pan out as it was supposed to.

Secondly, the arguer's solution to freeing up space for the implementation of urban renewal program is to evict citizens from their homes. The arguer states that the opposite side of the city has many apartments that are unoccupied, owing to which these buildings can be razed to free up space for building new industries. The arguer fails to consider the fact that houses are currently empty, but probably a few years down the line, demand for houses in Transopolis may increase. Additionally, what if the new industries are developed and they need accomodations for their employees? Such a situation would mean that the demand for houses will outnumber the houses available for sale. As a result, house prices will increase and it will upset the normal balance of economics. The planning department's suggestion of razing unoccupied land needs further deliberation before such a plan is set into motion.

Lastly, even if we assume that razing unoccupied apartments is a viable option, how can the arguer be certain that alternate housing will be readily available? What if alternate housing is not available on time and the people evicted from their original homes have to spend their lives on the streets? This might lead to large scale rescentment among the citizens of Transopolis. Moreover, even if we assume that alternate housing is available, what makes the arguer certain that people will agree to move to another location? What if their is opposition by the people against eviction from their homes? This would seriously call into question, the implementation of urban renewal program and undermine the planning department's suggestion.

In sum, it cannot be categorically stated if the planning department's suggestion regarding urban renewal program will be a success. It is due to the various fallacies, that have been stated in the paragraphs above, that seriously question the planning department's plan and undermine their position.