The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing, is of the opinion that the company should bring back the alpaca overcoat which the company discontinued five year ago. The vice president has provided various evidences that support his claim that the alpaca coat will be a hit among it's customer base and it will help the company increase it's profits. The evidences provided by the vice president lends credibility to his claim, although a closer look could unearth a few alternate possibilities that could undermine the vice president's claim.

Firstly, the vice president states the reason why alpaca courts were discontinued five years ago was because of the difficulties in finding high quality wool fabric. The vice president claims that they have found a new supplier for wool fabric and hence, they should resume the production of alpaca overcoat. The vice president fails to provide evidence regarding the authenticity of this new supplier, nor does the vice president give proof whether the new supplier can continue providing wool fabric for a prolonged period of time. What if the new supplier is a fraud who takes up money but provides Sartorian with poor quality wool, or the supplier is unable to provide good quality wool for a long period of time? This could mean that Sartorian would have to cease the production of alpaca overcoats and it might lead to dis-satisfaction among it's customers and decrease in the profits of the company.

Secondly, even if we assume that the new supplier is a legitimate business, how can the vice president be certain that there will be an increased demand for alpaca overcoats among it's customers. The vice president does provide evidence that their competitor does not manufacture alpaca overcoats anymore, and there has been a gap of five years since Sartorian manufactured alpaca overcoat, but this does not guarantee the fact that alpaca overcoats will be in demand. What if the customers have moved to a different kind of overcoat during these five years, and it turned out to be a durable material? This could mean that the customers will be reluctant to move towards alpaca overcoats since they have found an alternative for it. This could undermine the vice president's claim that the alpaca overcoat will have a high customer demand.

Lastly, the vice president further bolsters his claim by specifying the pricing trend of clothes, and that it has increased over the past five years. As a result, the vice president is confident that customers will spend large amounts of money to buy the alpaca overcoats and show lesser reluctance to the price of alpaca overcoat, than they would have five years ago. The vice president's claim is based upon evidence that does not necessarily signify the fact that customers will be willing to spend money on alpaca overcoats. The vice president states that "most" types of clothing have seen an increase in price, not all of them. What if the customers prefer to buy overcoats that have not seen an increase in price over the last five years? This would mean that introducing an expensive product in the market would lead to losses rather than profits for Sartorian.

In sum, it cannot be categorically commented on the success of the vice president's prediction regarding sales of alpaca overcoat and the increase in profits for the company. The vice president has stated evidences that are erroneous and dubious, and cast a doubt on the success of re-introducing alpaca overcoats.