A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is always a dilemma among lawmakers as to what are the allowable rights that a felon can have when he or she is being prosecuted. Some are of the opinion that a person who knowingly commits crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the rights to benefit from his or her own labor. I disagree with such an opinion since I feel that such a statement is too extreme and rigid. It does not consider different variables that are associated with a crime. The reasoning behing my stand will be explained with the help of examples in the paragrpahs below.

A person who knowingly commits a crime may have his or her reasons to commit it. For example, a recent newspaper article that I came across stated that a man in Texas killed and individual and he was tried for murder. Looking at this statement, the readers will think that the person deserved it. On the contrary, the accused murdered the individual because the individual had raped his young daughter. The judge, presiding over this case knew about the motive behind this crime and he vindicated the accused. The accused had a motive, he even committed a crime, but that does not mean that he be stripped of his civil rights. He was an honest man, but his rage was justified given the act that was committed against his daughter. And therefore, no one has the right to restrict him from benefiting from his own labor.

People are of the opinion that a person who commits a crime has broken the social contract. I agree that breaking a rule is socially debarred, but if such a crime benefits the masses, I do not see any harm in that. Edward Snowden, the world-famous whistle-blower and a former member of the NSA leaked information online about how the United States government is tracking user data without their consent. He leaked sensitive data online which is a crime, but leaking this information made the citizens of United states aware about how their personal privacy was being invaded by the government. Edward Snowden committed a crime, but he did it because he felt obligated to the social contract that he is bound to, not with the intention of breaking free from it.

Proponents of the above statement would put forward the point that a person who knowingly commits a crime knows the repercussions of doing so. Therefore, they no longer feel obligated to respect the social contract and maintain peace and harmony. I agree that some crimes are violent and the intention behind doing it is morbid, but such a general understanding cannot be used to justify that every crime has a bad intention. It is necessary that we listen to the guilty party as well, verify their side of the story, and then reach a conclusion.

In sum, I am against the above statement which states that a person who knowingly commits crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the rights to benefit from his or her own labor. As mentioned in the aforementioned paragraphs, some acts that are legally incorrect are morally justified and every variable involved in a crime should be accounted for before making extreme decisions related to the civil rights of a person.