The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

A talented individual, be it in any field like music, drama or dance are recognized by his or her ardent followers of that generation as well as the generations that follow. If an individual is truly talented then it will most certainly mean that he will have followers and the critics of those times will also agree with the fact that a musician was a talented individual. Hence, I disagree with the fact that a musician will be correctly assessed only after he has been dead for generations.

Firstly, the critics are sound individuals whose judgement is respected by all the individuals in a society. They have been assigned the status of a critic because these people are at the epitome of the field wherein, they pass their reviews. They have been put onto that spot due to their sound understanding of the field as well as the impartial judgement they pass. These individuals are by no means the ardent followers of a particular musician or his or her work. They are at the position of critic to discuss upon the fallacies of a particular artist. If an individual is talented and truly a great musician, he or she will preserve this status for generations to come. On the contrary, if the musician was not talented, the critics of that generation would have refused to recognize a person as an accomplished musician.

Secondly, the fame that a musician or any artist receives from his or her followers is due to the fact that they truly possess an acumen for the field they are present in. Present day individuals do not blindly support an artist. They do so because of the musical prowess an individual possesses. Talented individuals become part of the field wherein they excel. They get the fame and the stardom which comes along with it. They are also blessed with a huge fan-base. These fans are not blind or deaf to not look at the shortcomings of an individual. As it is said, a truly talented individual is forever remembered for his or her work, whereas an individual with little to no talent falls into oblivion.

Additionally, as the generations keep on evolving, their predilection for a particular form of music sways from one form to another. It is not appropriate to let the future generations judge or assess the musician of bygone years. The possibility of the new generations, not recognizing the true essence of the music is highly probable. Youngsters currently have a liking for rock music, but their predecessors had a liking for classical music. The youngsters will not truly appreciate the talent of the singers from the bygone era. This would be an unjust assessment of the talent of a musician form the past years.

Therefore, I strongly oppose the above given statement that a musician can be assessed accurately only after he or she has been dead for several generations.