Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Nature's Way is a chain of stores selling health food and health-related products. They plan on opening a new franchise in Plainsville and predict it to be a successful venture. The reasons cited for the success of Nature's Way in Plainsville are listed in the prompt above. Firstly, the sale of running shoes and exercise clothing are at an all time high. Secondly, the local health-club has the highest member count currently. Lastly, the school children are required to participate in a fitness-for life program which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise. These evidence imply that Nature's Way would be a success in Plainsville and they seem legible during the first read. But close scrutiny unearths dubious relations and premise that might call into question the success of Nature's Way in Plainsville.

Firstly, the sale of health food and health-realted products are attributed to the increase in sale of shoes and exercise clothing. It is true that the increase in buyers of shoes and exercise clothing points towards increase in the number of people who will indulge in physical activities. But it does not mean that these people will invest in health-related products as well. To perform physical activities, like sports and exercise, proper attire is a requisite. On the other hand, health-related food is not necessary at all. It is possible that the residents of Plainsville are adept enough to make healty food at their home. This could mean that opening a franchise of Nature's Way at Plainsville would actually be a failure.

Secondly, the local health-club membership has registered a record number of memberships that it currently has at the club. The reason for this could be the improvement in service that the club provides to its customers that has stimulated more and more people to join the club. Another reason could be the decrease in membership fees as a result of an ongoing scheme. These instances could mean that comparing the success of Nature's Way in Plainsville to the increase in members at the local health club are unwarranted. It is also possible that an in-house cafe at the club provides healthy-food as part of the membership, which could mean that the success of Nature's Way at Plainsville is highly unlikely.

Additionally, the student of Plainsville are required to take part in a program that has been started to make children realize the benefits of exercise at an early age. This is a good initiative to promote exercise amongst children. It is possible that the children take up different forms of physical activities. But it is by no means certain that the kids will indulge in healthy food. No one can predict such an outcome since the minds of children sway form one thing to another and their likeness for healthy food cannot be categorically substantiated.

In sum, the evidences and premises provided in the prompt above are hollow and have no base to them. The evidences are unwarranted and since the conclusion stands upon such baseless evidences. It is not assured if the franchise of Nature's Way would be a success in Plainsville.