Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development is crucial for the advancement of the current generation towards a more sustainable and futuristic style of living. Research and development helps venture into uncharted waters, which occasionally results in a fruitful discovery. The given statement suggests that governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research or discovery. I disagree with such a statement on the grounds that research and development should be done without outside interference. Failing to ensure outside hindrance can cause the research to loose it true essence. The following paragraphs would elaborate more upon my position and the reasoning behind it.

Often times governments of different nations bring about propaganda and cultural ideologies that stand in the way of a ground-breaking research. For example, cultural groups in India oppose domains of potential research on the grounds that it is a cultural taboo. Such beliefs can crop up in the minds of those who run the nation as well. As a result, the government would promote research and developments that appease them where as put restrictions on research that does not hold monetary value for them even if such a research would help ease the predicament of the masses. Scientific research should be bias-free but achieving such a feet with government restrictions is not possible.

Moreover, if restrictions are put upon certain research domains, the domain experts would have to move towards a different line of research, one which they are not proficient in. This would mean that we are wasting a talent from being fully utilized. Say for example, a researcher with expertise in chemical engineering is told to shift departments and pursue research in quantum physics, since there are restrictions on the field chemical engineering that he wishes to pursue. Such restrictions hold back a researcher from applying his true expertise in a field that interests him. It is widely regarded that motivation and interest towards the domain of your choice gives an added impetus to work harder and earn fruitful results.

Proponents of the given statement would claim that certain restrictions need to be put in place to ensure that a research does not fall into wrong hands. For example, there are restrictions on biological modifications of genes and the research a person can do in this domain. I agree that certain restrictions are necessary. Although, it is also important that these restrictions do not impede a possible breakthrough research. There is a fine boundary between restrictions and allowable research and one should be mindful that they do not cross this boundary.

In sum, I am still against the statement that governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research or discovery. Doing so would invariably stand in the way of a possible life-saving research and impede the normal functioning of the scientific society.