Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Colleges and universities are the temples of higher education. Prospective students enroll in a college or a university to gain a deeper insight into the domain that they wish to pursue a career in. Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students. I disagree with such a proposition on the grounds that such a feat is difficult to achieve in countries wherein the financial situation is not stable. Further reasoning behind my position will be explained in subsequent paragraphs.

As specified in the aforementioned paragraph, countries that are developing or are underdeveloped need to divert financial resources towards creation of a healthy economy, efficient healthcare and new job positions. We all know, universities and colleges rely heavily on the tuition that students pay, moreover, they receive a small portion of their revenue via donations. If students are given free education, without the tuition, will the government be able to enumerate all the universities in the country with the tuition they lost as a result of imparting free education? Such a feat is hard to accomplish even for developed countries like the United States of America, let alone developing countries like India. Free education exerts an acute financial stress upon the economy of a country. Such pressure cannot be held by a country for an extended period of time.

Moreover, universities and colleges charge tuition in order to maintain state of the art facilities within their respective campus. If the tuition, paid by the students is stopped, it is highly plausible that the standard of education, imparted at premier universities like MIT, Stanford and Yale may also start to deteriorate. People might argue that government aid can save such universities from loosing their charm, but can these individuals be certain that government aids would not be a fleeting practice by the government? What if government grants are stopped, citing that the finances of the coutnry are going overbudget? Such a situation might ultimately lead to times wherein the standard of education has gone so low that graduates are not able to cope with the fast-paced world.

Proponents of the above proposition might state that a certain kid who lacks the financial backing to study in Ivy League Colleges might benefit from such plan that is implemented by the government. I agree that a talented child should always be granted such opportunities, but offering free education to everyone is an extreme step. Moreover, colleges and governments do offer scholarships to talented kids so that they can fulfill their dreams of studying in a reputed university. Hence, making college education free for everyone can lead to unpleasent financial ramifications in the future.

In sum, I still stand against the stated proposition that governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students. Rather increasing the quota for offering scholarships to truly talented kids would me a more viable alternative.