The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A small business group in the city of Monroe predict a jazz music club to be a highly profitable enterprise in the city. They have cited various evidences to back such a claim. These evidences seem veritable and convincing during the first read. But a closer look unearths possible discrepancies in these evidences that could prove the prediction by the business group unwarranted.

Firstly, the arguer suggests that since there is no jazz music club in the close vicinity of Monroe, C-Note will have all the local market to itself. It could be possible that the reason why there are no jazz clubs in the city of Monroe is because the residents do not like visiting such clubs. Moreover, the evidence produced in the passage, that the closest jazz club is sixty-five miles away from Monroe further backs such a prediction that citizens of Monroe probably do not pose a penchant for jazz music clubs. This could prove the arguer's prediction false and the new jazz music club could be a bad investment for the small-business group.

Secondly, the arguer cites that Monroe's recent jazz festival garnered an audience of around hundred thousand people and the radio program, 'Jazz Nightly' is the highest rated program in Monroe. Therefore, people of Monroe will visit the jazz music club as well. Both these evidences are totally baseless and do not provide any support to the arguer's prediction. The jazz festival happens once a year in Monroe, it could be possible that the residents see it as a once in a year opportunity and hence, visit the festival. And it could also be possible that the citizens of Monroe prefer staying at home and listen to the jazz program rather than stepping out and spending money in a jazz music club. Both these aforementioned situations can undermine the arguer's prediction about C-Note's success.

Lastly, the arguer mentions a nationwide study that indicates a typical jazz fan spends close to a thousand dollars on jazz entertainment. How can a nationwide study represent the people of Monroe? What if the people of Monroe spend only a small amount of money on jazz entertainment? This could mean that the people of Monroe would be reluctant to spend money in a jazz music club. And even if we consider that the people of Monroe spend close to a thousand dollars on jazz related entertainment. How can the arguer be sure that the citizens of Monroe will spend money on the jazz music club? It might be possible that they spend their money buying jazz instruments. This would again undermine the arguer's prediction about the jazz music club's success.

In sum, the evidences provided by the small-business group are totally unwarranted and baseless. The evidences seem to hint at a few alternate possibilities that seem to undermine the arguer's position. Hence, the arguer should revisit the evidences provided to predict if the jazz music club would really be a profitable venture in Monroe.