The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year,our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news.During this time period,most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition,local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us.Therefore,in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues,we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from a business manager of a television station outlines a few possible changes that have taken place over the past year. There are a few evidences that have been presented by the business manager that later support his conclusion. The conclusion is that, in order to regain its lost viewers and revenue it would devote more airtime to weather and local news during late night programs. The above given plan of action seems to do the trick for the business manager when it is read for the first time, but a much closer look and a few alternate possibilities can cast a doubt on the prediction of the business manager on the outcome of this plan.

Firstly, the manager implicitly attributes the loss of revenue from advertisements to the reduced time devoted to weather and local news programs. The local businesses that used to advertise during the late-night news program might have found a cheaper alternative of the television station. This could mean that even if local news and weather programs are restored to its previous air-time. It would not have a positive impact on the revenue that will be generated from advertisements.

Secondly, there could be a possibility that the complaints received by the television station were due to the poor picture quality or inaudible sound that infuriates the customers that watch the television. The national news might be of interest to the customers of the television station, but poor broadcasting of the programs has led to the diminishing number of customers. This could mean that even if weather and local news is restored, the customers might not come watch it. The exact nature and the type of complaints received needs to be known so that the exact reason for customer churn is revealed.

Additionally, there is an alternative possibility for the reduction in revenues out of advertisements. There could be a possibility that the local businesses are not performing that great in terms of monetary aspects of business. This could prove the cancellation of advertising contracts.

The memorandum provided by the business manager consists of a plethora of loopholes and alternate possibilities. Hence, it is not at all certain if the suggestions provided by the business manager would prove to be fruitful for the television station.