Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Children in school are taught about different animals that are present on earth as a part of their curriculum, what they are not taught are the number of animals that have gone extinct as a result of human activities. We all know about the "Dodo", a bird which is now extinct. It is due to the human invaders, who started residing in these islands, which the Dodo once inhabited, and as a result the Dodos were killed and slaughtered by the new settlers. Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of these species is the result of human activities. In my opinion, such a statement is incomplete, and that, all endangered species should be saved irrespective of them being at the brink of extinction as a result of human activities or no.

There is no hiding from the fact that we humans are a greedy breed of animals. We stop at nothing in order to achieve what we want, and feeling the brunt of such an attitude are the animals. The greed for money has encouraged many poachers to kill elephants for the ivory that can be retrieved form them. It is not just the poachers who are guilty of committing such a sin, but the opulent as well. The fantasies that these rich possess, such as animal skin or animal fur has led to the killing of many animals so that the ends of the rich people are met. In all these instances, it is the animals that are paying the price, with their life. Tigers are now considered as an endangered species and such a dire situation has occurred due to the penchant of rich people for carpets made up of animal skin. All these malpractices should be shunned immediately and corrective actions should be taken in order to reverse the declining numbers of endangered species.

It is necessary to take such actions because the extinction of one species of animal can lead to a devastating chain effect that can hamper the normal livelihood of the humans as well. Imagine if the actions of us humans have led to the extinction of a crucial animal such as the elephants. In such a case, a large part of the predator's source of food will be absent from their diet. This would lead to scarcity of food for them and the extinction of the predators as well. This is one discernible ill-effects of animal extinction. There are various other variables that would come into play which might lead to the extinction of human-beings as well. If we want to make sure that such an adverse situation does not occur, it is high time that we humans become aware and take corrective actions to save all endangered species, irrespective of them being in such a situation due to human negligence or no.

Often times, these animals act as symbols and represent certain countries. For example, Bangladesh is represented by the tiger whereas India is represented by a peacock. If in case we assume that tigers have gone extinct from Earth. This would mean that a country has lost it's symbol and the kids studying there will grow up to discover that the symbol of their country has been wiped out from the face of the Earth. Future generations will eventually forget about the animal that represented their country and a crucial piece of history would be lost into oblivion.

In sum, I feel that the above mentioned statement is incomplete, regarding the measures that need to be taken in order to save endangered species. In my opinion, it is the moral duty of an human to reverse the sins committed by him, not in order to be on the good side of karma, but to make sure that the human race does not bring upon itself, the deleterious ramifications, which can be caused due to the extinction of endangered species.