A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product.As you know,we are working with a first-time director,whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company.Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful,it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take,without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene.In addition,while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors,this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things.If we don't get this extra money,the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A movie producer, in his memo to the head of a movie studio has requested that the funding for the movie "Working Title" be increased by ten percent. The movie producer cites various reasons why the extra money is necessary and goes as far as claiming that if the extra money is not provided, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure. The reasons cited by the producer seem legible when they are read for the first time, although, a closer look reveals a few alternate possibilities that could prove the movie producer's suggestion unwarranted.

Firstly, the movie producer compares the advertisement business and the film business. The producer claims that advertising business are known for wasting time when they shoot for a promotion, hence, the director of the film, who's past experience has been with the advertising business will also waste time while shooting the film. This general claim made by the producer does not necessarily conclude that the director hired for the film will also waste time. What if the director completed his commercial for a shampoo company within the stipulated time period? This could mean that it is highly likely that the director completes the film on time, as opposed to the general thought that the movie's producer holds.

Secondly, the producer states that the inexperienced assistant producers and directors will waste time arranging things on the set. As a reason, the producer has to pay the crew and the actors, extra money for the overtime. This assertion is completely baseless since the crew is always tasked with arranging things on the sets not the directors or producers. If the crew is experienced, it could be possible that they complete the setup on time and there is no extra money to be paid. On the contrary, if the crew is inexperienced, then the delay caused for arranging the sets should be attributed to the crew and not to the assistant producers or directors.

Lastly, even if the assistant producers and directors are inexperienced, it does not mean that the film would be a failure because of their experience level. It could be possible that the movie studio hired these individuals because they saw the previous work that they were involved in. It could be the case that they bring some inputs from their previous work towards creation of the "Working Title" which probably enhances the film. This would mean that the producer's harsh statement about the success of the film is unwarranted.

In sum, there are many erroneous and dubious statements in the memo by the producer that does not accomplish the task they were meant to do. The producer's assertion is based on evidence that are ambiguous, hence, it cannot be categorically stated if the producer's prediciton would be true.