Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

In a free world that we live in currently, everything around is evolving everyday. The attitude towards people who are willing to take the risk and pursue their own dreams is also changing. A claim states that even though young people often receive the advice to "follow your own dreams ", more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals. The reasoning behind such a claim states that many people's dream are inherently selfish. I stand against such a claim and in my opinion, the reasoning behind this claim is also too extreme. The paragraphs below will explain my position in brief and why I stand against the claim.

A person who pursues his or her dream does so with utmost discipline and punctuality. There is a zeal and a zest to provide a substantial contribution to the world through the domain, a person is interested in. What if an individual who is interested in nuclear physics, is told to pursue a career in astrophysics? Will he be able to generate the desired output in terms of new findings? Not at all. If a person is not motivated by the work he does, it would be an absolute waste of a potential talent. The reason behind the claim states that many people's dreams are inherently selfish. I put forward my reasoning and state that if pursuing your dream makes you happy and content with your life, being selfish is justified.

The claim also states that more emphasis should be placed upon selecting worthy goals. In my opinion, a person would himself be the the best judge of what according to him is a worthy goal. A worthy goal in today's world would be to become a machine learning engineer or a data scientist, if we talk about the computing domain. If we assume that a student chooses the aforementioned domain because it is a worthy goal in the eyes of the people. What assurance can the people provide that machine learning and data science would be a worthy domain by the time a student graduates form college? What if the domain has lost it's charm over the years? This would put the student in a rather precarious situation since the domain he has chosen neither interests him nor can he find a job related to it. Hence, it is advisable to follow one's dreams, because in doing so, it would spare the person from disappointment in later stages of life.

It is usually the parents that put their expectations and their dreams on top of a child. They see their child as a means through which they can achieve all the things in life that they themselves could not. Such an act would be something that is selfish. I would rather side by the kid and motivate him or her to pursue what they think is best for them. Having a dream and pursuing it is not selfish. But pursuing someone else's dream would be definitely wrong.

In sum, I stand against the claim as well as the reasoning given to support it. In my opinion, if pursuing your own dreams is selfish, it is good to be selfish, rather than being a circus lion who does whatever the ring master tells him to do.