Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager of a radio station named KICK, based out of Medway has recommends that it should include more call-in advice programs in order to increase its audience share in its listening area. The manager even provides evidences to support his recommendation. The evidence seem compelling when the prompt is read for the first time. Although, a closer look unearths a few possible discrepancies in the evidences that could pose a few questions on the recommendation of the station manager. The discrepancies are explained in brief, in the paragraphs below.

Firstly, the arguer draws evidence for the possible success of his recommendation from a radio station named WCQP, based in Rockville. The author assumes that since the addition of more call-in advice programs proved fruitful for WCQP, it will have the same effect for KICK in Medway as well. But the author fails to provide evidence for a demographic similarity between Rockville and Medway. Do the residents of Medway share the same inclination for call-in advice programs as the residents of Rockville? If they don't, then adding call-in advice programs on KICK in Medway would be unsuccessful since the residents of Medway are not interested in call-in advice programs. Therefore, KICK will fail to increase it's share of listening audience and the recommendation of the station manager would be lapse in decision making on his side.

Secondly, the arguer further bolsters his stand by stating that a nationwide survey indicates that many listeners are quite interested in call-in advice programs. The arguer fails to explicitly state in numbers, the count of people who are actually interested in call-in advice programs. "Quite interested", is a very vague term and the arguer must quantify it inorder to be a relevant evidence. Hence, the question arises, does interested mean that they will definitely listen to these programs? It could be possible that they are interested in call-in advice programs but are not inclined towards watching it on a regular basis. Moreover, the arguer fails to mention the number of people that were part of this survey and the organization that conducted it. If the survey set included individuals who have a propensity towards call-in advice programs or the survey was conducted by a supporter of call-in advice programs. The results are biased and cannot be termed as an appropriate evidence to base a recommendation upon.

Lastly, the scenario of Rockville, which states that individuals have a predilection for call-in advice programs was two years ago. Therefore, it would be ideal to do a thorough analysis again, with the current mindset of people and discern whether individuals still have a penchant for call-in advice programs. A two year old scenario does not provide sufficient basis to rest a conclsion on. It could be possible that the new results suggest that call-in advice programs are no more a trend among people. This could mean that airing call-in advice programs on KICK would be a wrong decision by the station manager.

In sum, the above given evidences and alternate possibilities suggest that the recommendation of the station manager is based upon fallacious evidences and assumptions. Therefore, it is advisable that the station manager reevaluates his recommendation before making a decision to switch to call-in advice programs.